ABORIGINAL PAINTERS

AUSTRALIA

PRESENTATION

W O R K S   F R O M   2 0 0 6   T O   2 0 1 9 


Artworks by Theo Hudson NANGALA, Geraldine Granites NAPANGARDI, Elizabeth MBITJANA, Elizabeth Katakarinja NAPALJARRI and Barney Campbell TJAKAMARRA.


We have chosen to show a selection of Australian Aboriginal artists, in collaboration with the great current specialist Stéphane Jacob, who has been advising the Musée du Quai Branly in Paris and the Musée des Confluences in Lyon for several decades.


Contemporary Aboriginal art draws its inspiration from this still vivid memory of the creation of Australia, known as the "Time of Dreams" - a set of shared myths despite great cultural diversity (before colonisation, there were about 250 Aboriginal language groups and nearly 600 dialects) by all the Aborigines and evoking the appearance of Great Ancestors ("Lightning Spirits", demigods, animals, even plants) who came out of the original magma to shape the continent in their image, give birth to tribes, establish laws and social and religious customs.


Depending on the region, the stylistic characteristics and techniques differ: the participants in a ceremony may also erect totems representing their great ancestors, or reproduce ritual or clan motifs on bark and cover their bodies with sacred, essentially abstract motifs.

 

Between primitive art and contemporary art, this selection of 10 works is a perfect introduction to this abstract art from the world's end.

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH THE GALERIE ARTS D'AUSTRALIE - STÉPHANE JACOB 

ARTWORKS

EXHIBITION AT THE 193 GALLERY

A WORLD OF ABSTRACTION
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

PEINTRES ABORIGÈNES 

AUSTRALIE

PRÉSENTATION

T R A V A U X   D A T A N T   D E   2 0 0 6   A   2 0 1 9

Oeuvres de Theo Hudson NANGALA, Geraldine Granites NAPANGARDI, Elizabeth MBITJANA, Elizabeth Katakarinja NAPALJARRI et Barney Campbell TJAKAMARRA.


Nous avons fait le choix de montrer une sélection d' artistes aborigènes australiens, en collaboration avec le grand spécialiste du courant Stéphane Jacob, qui conseille notamment depuis plusieurs décennies le Musée du Quai Branly à Paris et le Musée des Confluences à Lyon.


L'art aborigène contemporain puise son inspiration dans ce souvenir toujours vivant de la création de l'Australie qu'on appelle le "Temps du Rêve" - ensemble de mythes partagés malgré une grande diversité culturelle (avant la colonisation, il y avait environ 250 groupes linguistiques aborigènes et près de 600 dialectes) par tous les Aborigènes et évoquant l'apparition de Grands Ancêtres ("Esprits-éclairs", demi-dieux, animaux, voire plantes) sortis du magma originel pour façonner le continent à leur image, donner naissance aux tribus, instaurer lois et coutumes sociales et religieuses.


Suivant les régions, les caractéristiques stylistiques et les techniques diffèrent : les participants d'une cérémonie peuvent également dresser des totems représentant leurs grands ancêtres, ou reproduire sur écorce des motifs rituels ou claniques et se couvrir le corps de motifs sacrés, essentiellement abstraits.

 

Entre art premier et art contemporain, cette sélection de 10 oeuvres est une parfaite introduction à cet art abstrait du bout du monde.

EN PARTENARIAT AVEC LA GALERIE ARTS D'AUSTRALIE - STÉPHANE JACOB 

OEUVRES

EXPOSITION À LA 193 GALLERY

UN MONDE D'ABSTRACTION
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône