Chuli Herrera 

 

Born in Camagüey in 1987. Educated as an art instructor at the Faculty of Arts "Nicolas Guillen Batista" in Camagüey, from which he graduated in 2006, Chuli Herrera continues his training at the Pedagogical University "José Marti" of Camagüey (2011). Since 2007, his first solo exhibition "Memory of a Contemporary Versatility", at the gallery of the Faculty of Camagüey, spotted in the world of Cuban visual arts as an artist with effective and innovative works. , digital photography and interactive installations, Chuli Herrera focuses on the social relations and benefits offered by new technologies in the era of social networks.In 2013 also, he won the prize of the 18th Visual Arts Fair Fidelio Ponce de Camagüey.

 

In 2014, Chuli directed the Be One exhibition at the Latin American and Caribbean Center in Beijing, featuring women, men, the elderly and the people of the East, motivated by architecture. , gastronomy and the bonds of friendship between Cuba and China. In 2015, with the Cielo project presented at the XII Biennial of Havana, Chuli Herrera definitively becomes a place in the vast panorama of Cuban visual arts. Via social networks, he asks people around the world to send him a photo of their sky. He then collects images and, after reworking the snapshots, he transforms them into paintings. Will the public see some of the skies of many countries or the great representation of one and only sky? The limits are created by the man. Thus, through this project Chuli Herrera questions the urgency of questioning the reality and plurality of impressions, but also reminds us of the need to sensitize the public to the fact that we are part of a whole, the world, which we must protect against to ecological disasters. For the past few years, his work has been marked by the constant relation of subordinate images to the emotions and internal and external situations that the human being constantly experiences.

 

Chuli Herrera has already exhibited in several countries in South America, China, the Netherlands and Italy. He has received numerous awards in Cuba and is a member of UNEAC (Association of Cuban Artists and Writers) and AHS (Association of Young Cuban Artists).

Chuli Herrera 

 

Né à Camagüey en 1987. Formé en tant qu’instructeur d’art à la Faculté des Arts “Nicolas Guillen Batista” à Camagüey, dont il sort diplômé en 2006, Chuli Herrera poursuit sa formation à l’Université pédagogique “José Marti” de Camagüey (2011). Il est dès 2007, date de sa première exposition personnelle "Mémoire d'une polyvalence contemporaine”, à la galerie de la faculté de Camagüey, repéré dans le milieu des arts visuels cubains comme un artiste aux oeuvres efficaces et novatrices. À travers la peinture, la photographie numérique et des installations interactives, Chuli Herrera se concentre sur les relations sociales et les avantages offerts par les nouvelles technologies à l’ère des réseaux sociaux. En 2013 également, il remporte le prix du 18ième salon des arts visuels Fidelio Ponce de Camagüey.

 

En 2014, Chuli a réalisé l'exposition Be One au Centre latino-américain et caribéen de Pékin, mettant en vedette des femmes, des hommes, des personnes âgées et des gens du peuple de l'est du pays, motivés par l'architecture, la gastronomie et les liens d'amitié entre Cuba et la Chine. En 2015, avec le projet Cielo présenté à la XIIe Biennale de La Havane, Chuli Herrera se taille définitivement une place dans le vaste panorama des arts visuels cubains. Via les réseaux sociaux, il demande à des gens du monde entier de lui envoyer une photo de leur ciel. Il rassemble alors des images et, après avoir retravaillé les instantanés, il les transforme en peintures. Le public verra-t-il une partie du ciel de plusieurs pays ou la grande représentation d’un seul et unique ciel ? Les limites sont créées par l'homme. Ainsi par ce projet Chuli Herrera questionne l'urgence de remettre en question la réalité et la pluralité des impressions, mais rappelle également la nécessité de sensibiliser le public au fait que nous faisons partie d’un tout, le monde, que nous devons protéger face aux désastres écologiques.  Depuis quelques années, son travail est marqué par la relation constante des images subordonnées aux émotions et aux situations internes et externes que l’être humain éprouve constamment. 

Chuli Herrera a déjà exposé dans plusieurs pays d’Amérique du Sud, en Chine, aux Pays- Bas et en Italie. Il a reçu de nombreux prix à Cuba et Il est membre de l’UNEAC (l’association des artistes et écrivains cubains) et de l’AHS (l’association des  jeunes artistes cubains).