R10

 

R10 - real name Jorge Rodriguez Diez, was born in 1969. Graduated from the Higher Institute of Design in 1995.

 

The subversion of the traditional codes of advertising graphics and political propaganda is the central axis of his paintings. He became interested in the reflection and questioning of Cuba's conflictual past. He uses the graphics of period magazines and recycles images typical of Cuban history to establish a close connection with the current reality. Therefore, R10 is not a mere chronicler of the past, but also actor of the present. Postmodern pastiche, irony and sarcasm are essential strategies in his work, the means with which the artist expresses the most complex aspirations of Cuban news. R10 has managed to create his own style with a visual richness and a metaphorical depth as highlighted by the works selected for the exhibition.

 

R10 received the first prize in the European Union Poster Design Competition and the first prize in the Graphic Art Competition at the commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of Frida Kahlo and the 20th anniversary of Diego's death Rivera.

 

His works are part of the Factoría Habana collection, La Habana, Cuba; Lise Charlotte Aune, MAP Gallery, Oslo, Norway; Susan Adelman, United States; Beverly Walton, United States; Kathy Along, United States; Michael Reese and Joshua Snowden, United States; Jennifer Trewhella, Australia.

R10

 

R10 – de son vrai nom Jorge Rodriguez Diez, est né en 1969. Diplômé de l'institut supérieur de Design en 1995. 

 

La subversion des codes traditionnels du graphisme publicitaire et de propagande politique est l'axe central de ses peintures.  Il s’est intéressé à la réflexion et à la remise en question du passé conflictuel de Cuba.  Il utilise le graphisme des magazines d'époque et recycle des images typiques de l'histoire cubaine pour établir un rapprochement étroit avec la réalité actuelle. Par conséquent, R10 n'est pas un simple chroniqueur du passé, mais aussi acteur du présent. Le pastiche postmoderne, l’ironie et le sarcasme sont des stratégies incontournables dans son travail, des moyens avec lesquels l’artiste exprime les aspirations les plus complexes de l’actualité cubaine.  R10 a réussi à créer son propre style avec une richesse visuelle et une profondeur métaphorique comme le souligne les œuvres sélectionnées pour l'exposition.

 

R10 a reçu le premier prix du concours de création d'affiches de l'Union européenne et le premier prix du concours d’art graphique lors de la commémoration du 100ème anniversaire de la naissance de Frida Kahlo et du 20ème anniversaire de la mort de Diego Rivera. 

 

Ses œuvres font partie de la collection de Factoría Habana, La Habana, Cuba; Lise Charlotte Aune, Galerie MAP, Oslo, Norvège; Susan Adelman, États-Unis; Beverly Walton, États-Unis; Kathy Along, États-Unis; Michael Reese et Joshua Snowden, États-Unis; Jennifer Trewhella, Australie.