Jean-Marc Hunt

 

Originally from Lq Réunion and Guadeloupe, Jean-Marc Hunt was born in 1975 in Strasbourg (France). He grew up in the suburbs, where he made his mark in the scene of graffiti and rap music. Installed in Guadeloupe for fifteen years, he inscribed a work with figurative neo-expressionist invoice.

 

Painter and visual artist, he proceeds by series, accumulation and diversion. His work is often based on economy of means, evoking a state of urgency ironic register. Regularly invited to collective exhibitions and residences, he likes to risk installation projects and monumental sculpture. Since 2005, he has also distinguished himself in scenography and exhibition curatorial work, particularly with the unifying projects in visual arts that he initiated.

 

In January 2015, he was promoted to Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters by the Ministry of Culture and Communication of the French Republic.

"Hunt tried to reconstruct the initial global chaos in his own colorful perspective. For him, painting is exposing and edifying. His position does not take into account ideology, aesthetic flattery or self-satisfaction. His goal is more to tell than to show. To do this, he chooses means that can be direct, funny, moving and necessarily authentic "- Christian Bracy, art critic.

Jean-Marc Hunt

 

Originaire de la Réunion et de la Guadeloupe, Jean-Marc Hunt est né en 1975 à Strasbourg (France). Il grandit en banlieue, où il prend ses marques dans le milieu du graffiti et de la musique rap. Installé en Guadeloupe depuis quinze ans, il y inscrit une oeuvre à la facture figurative néo-expressionniste.

Peintre et plasticien, il procède par série, accumulation et détournement. Son travail repose souvent sur l'économie de moyens, évoquant un état de l'urgence au registre ironique. Invité régulièrement à des expositions collectives et résidences, il aime se risquer à des projets d'installation et de sculpture monumentale. Depuis 2005, il se distingue également en scénographie et commissariat d'exposition, notamment avec les projets fédérateurs en arts visuels qu'il initie.

 

En janvier 2015, il est promu au grade de chevalier de l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres par le ministère de la culture et de la communication de la République Française.

“Hunt a essayé de reconstruire le chaos mondial initial dans sa propre perspective colorée. Pour lui, la peinture, c'est exposer et édifier. Sa position ne tient pas compte de l'idéologie, de la flatterie esthétique ni de la satisfaction de soi. Son but est plus de raconter que de montrer. Pour ce faire, il choisit des moyens qui peuvent être directs, drôles, émouvants et nécessairement authentiques”- Christian Bracy, critique d'art.