Walking Rodriguez

Walkind Rodriguez was born on October 4th, 1978 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. He begins to draw from an early age and never stops; he entered the School of Fine Arts in Santo Domingo in 1996 and then joined the School of Graphic Design of Altos de Chavon in 1999.

 

In 2003, he participated in the National Biennial of Visual Arts of Santo Domingo and presented an individual exhibition at the gallery Lyle O'Reitzel. The same year, he moved to France where he continued his artistic exploration and experimented with different mediums: ceramics, photography, music and dance.

 

The honorable mention of the International Ceramic Triennial of the Museum of Modern Art of Santo Domingo was awarded to him in 2006.Since then he has established himself as an artist in France and abroad. In 2009, he exhibited in New York through the Parisian gallery Intemporel, during the Black Fine Art Show.

 

In 2013, the international music festival Rio Loco and the cultural center Alban Minville of Toulouse presented an exhibition tracing the last ten years of his work.

Influenced from the outset by Afro-Caribbean sounds, Walkind Rodriguez gives new importance to music after his arrival in France. He collaborates with many musicians, including the experimental scene and improvisation, illustrating posters and album covers, and as a trumpet player and percussionist. The different groups of which he is part offer him a space of creative sharing where he improvises new relations between music and drawing that nourish his graphic practice.

 

He offers performances combining painting "in vivo", music and dance. He collaborates with many festivals: Jazz in Luz, Roots of the Image, Meetings of Latin American cinemas, Festival dances and black continents, ...

 

In recent years, his work has been exhibited at the Théâtre du Pavé as part of the Pavé dans le Jazz festival, as well as several places dedicated to music.

 

Walkind Rodriguez scrutinizes the agitations of the world, plays with the material and offers us a work that invites us to step aside: "It is from the chaotic hubbub of the world that a polyrhythmic universe is emerging. My characters inspired by jazz, Afro-futurism, sketch steps of merengue by producing a soundscape that expresses itself through ethnico-cosmic motifs. In the beginning I was a deserter ... I left my country. Since then I learned to play the crossing: arts, cultures and influences. "

Walking Rodriguez

Walkind Rodriguez est né le 4 octobre 1978 à Saint-Domingue en République Dominicaine. Il commence à dessiner dès son plus jeune âge et jamais ne s’est arrêté; il entre à l’école des Beaux-Arts de Saint-Domingue en 1996 puis intègre l'École de graphisme d’Altos de Chavon en 1999.

En 2003, il participe à la Biennale Nationale des arts visuels de Saint-Domingue et présente une exposition individuelle à la galerie Lyle O’Reitzel. La même année, il s’installe en France où il poursuit son exploration artistique et expérimente différents médiums : la céramique, la photographie, la musique et la danse.

La mention d’honneur de la Triennale Internationale de céramique du musée d’art moderne de Saint-Domingue lui est décernée en 2006.

Depuis il s’est affirmé en tant qu’artiste en France et à l’étranger. En 2009, il expose à New-York par le biais de la galerie parisienne Intemporel, lors du Black Fine Art Show.

En 2013, le festival international de musique Rio Loco et le centre culturel Alban Minville de Toulouse présentent une exposition retraçant les dix dernières années de son oeuvre.

Influencé dès ses débuts par les sons afro-caribéens, Walkind Rodriguez donne une importance nouvelle à la musique après son arrivée en France. Il collabore avec de nombreux musiciens, notamment de la scène expérimentale et de l’improvisation, en illustrant affiches et pochettes de disques, et comme trompettiste et percussionniste. Les différents groupes dont il fait partie lui offrent un espace de partage créatif où s’improvisent de nouvelles relations entre musique et dessin qui nourrissent sa pratique graphique.

Il propose des performances alliant peinture « in vivo », musique et danse. Il collabore avec de nombreux festivals : Jazz à Luz, Faîtes de l’Image, Rencontres des cinémas d’Amérique latine, Festival danses et continents noires, …

Ces dernières années, son travail a été exposé au Théâtre du Pavé dans le cadre du festival un Pavé dans le Jazz, ainsi que plusieurs lieux dédiés à la musique.

Walkind Rodriguez scrute les agitations du monde, joue de la matière et nous offre une oeuvre qui nous invite à faire un pas de côté : « C’est à partir du brouhaha chaotique du monde que se dessine un univers polyrythmique. Mes personnages inspirés du jazz, de l’afro-futurisme, esquissent des pas de merengue en produisant un paysage sonore qui s’exprime au travers de motifs ethnico-cosmiques. Au commencement j’étais un déserteur… j’ai quitté mon pays. Depuis j’ai appris à jouer de la traversée : des arts, des cultures et des influences."