DERRICK OFOSU BOATENG

GHANA

PRESENTATION

An avowed fan of soccer, music and the 7th art, Derrick embodies the youth of the continent who took over the net in a flash. His works are emblematic of the media mix, made with Iphone. 

 

Deeply marked by the Anglo-Saxon culture, he dares the color through scenes of daily life exclusively devoted to the "feel good". These characters celebrate the black body always haloed with bright, inspiring tones. Equipped with trumpets and tasty looking fruits, they go beyond the perception of movement: they are inhabited, embodied, overflowing with life and communicative energy. 

 

"I consider photography to be a decisive tool for exchanging with the greatest number of people in different parts of the world. The stories are exceptional, full of emotion and life. To me, it is important that my work represents Africa through a positive prism, it helps to strongly change the perception of the continent. Many people write to me on social networks to tell me that my photographs have changed their vision, it makes me very happy," he says.

 

A keen observer on the lookout for what characterizes his environment, he is inspired by childhood and musical culture. As a one-man band, he makes it a point of honor to think, to refine the staging of his work.  It is a portrait dedicated to a man from Niger, who came to work in Accra to create his fabric business, which contributed to the fame of this young photographer. 

 

Through exchanges, the story of this migrant deeply touched Derrick. A photograph of this blissful-looking man, with closed eyes carrying a multitude of fabrics folded over his head crystallized this human encounter because "he declared that he had found peace and freedom in Ghana" confides the photographer.

WORKS

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

Un manifeste de liberté, 193 Gallery, Paris, France 

PRESSE

EXHIBITIONS

COLORS OF AFRICA
PHOTO LONDON
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

DERRICK OFOSU BOATENG

GHANA

PRÉSENTATION

Fan avoué de football, de musique et de 7e art, Derrick incarne la jeunesse du continent qui s'est emparée du net en un tour de main. Ses travaux sont emblématiques du mix-média, réalisés avec Iphone.

 

Profondément marqué par la culture anglo-saxone, il ose la couleur à travers des scènes du quotidien exclusivement dévolues au « feel good ». Ces personnages célèbrent le black body toujours auréolés de tonalités vives, inspirantes. Munies de trompettes, de fruits à l'air goûteux, ils dépassent la perception de mouvement : ils sont habités, incarnés, ils débordent de vie et d'énergie communicative.

« Je considère que la photographie est un outil déterminant pour échanger avec le plus grand nombre dans différents endroits du monde. Les récits sont exceptionnels, chargés d'émotion et de vie. A mes yeux, il est important que mes travaux représentent une Afrique sous un prisme positif, cela participe à changer fortement la perception du continent. De nombreuses personnes m'écrivent sur les réseaux sociaux pour me dire que mes photographies ont changé leur vision, ça me rend très heureux », précise-t-il.

Fin observateur à l'affût de ce qui caractérise son environnement, il s'inspire de l'enfance, de la culture musicale. Homme-orchestre, il met un point d'honneur à penser, peaufiner la mise en scène de ses travaux.

C'est un portrait consacré à un homme issu du Niger, venu travailler à Accra afin d'y créer son entreprise de tissus qui a participé à la renommée de ce jeune photographe.

Au fil d'échanges, l'histoire de ce migrant a profondément touché Derrick. Une photographie de cet homme à l'air béat, les yeux fermés portant une multitude de tissus pliés sur sa tête a ainsi cristallisé cette rencontre humaine car « il a déclaré avoir trouver la paix et la liberté au Ghana » confie le photographe.

OEUVRES

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

Un manifeste de liberté, 193 Gallery, Paris, France 

PRESSE

EXPOSITIONS 

COLORS OF AFRICA
PHOTO LONDON
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône