193_dicokam_SITE_1.jpg

From June 2 to July 31, 2022

Discovery of the artistic lexicon of
the Cameroonian scene 

Curated by Mary-Lou Ngwe-Secke

In its 350 m2 space at 24 rue Béranger, the 193 Gallery explores the artistic lexicon of the Cameroonian scene by presenting the works of eight contemporary artists. This eclectic panorama highlights all the cultural effervescence of Cameroon which today finds resonance on the international scene.

The Cameroonian scene is said to be made up of 4 generations, the first of which really took root in the 1940s and 1960s. It takes shape and gradually lights up with “the greats” like Barthélémy Toguo, but also Hervé Youmbi, Justine Gaga, Salifou Lindou, Joël Mpah Doh and many others. The scene presents an extraordinary solidarity and each generation comes to support the next and guide it on the paths of art. It is the late arrival of the first schools of Fine Arts (around 2009-2010) that will train the youngest generations in the "grande manner", thus bringing the figurative up to date while generating ever more interesting initiatives. . However, it is indeed the “elders” who deepen their training outside the walls and give them somehow the keys to understanding the world in which they are called to evolve. 

The performing artists are striking in their number and diversity. However, this is still not what is put forward at a time when we are still talking about THE African scene, forgetting the plural which is its strength.

Materializing one's curiosity is indeed the act of moving around, of going to see, questioning, understanding. If Vasari in his time went to meet the most incredible artists who populated the lands of his country, today it is up to us to collect the words of these painters and sculptors who nourish a scene that is still too little studied. It is therefore necessary to follow in the footsteps of the greats who precede us and to help them carry the torch that they so valiantly set ablaze.

 

The Cameroonian scene is complex, rich and strong with an unfailing family atmosphere. It does not stop at the borders of the Kamer, and also embraces its children of the metropolis, who revive ever more important and striking questions of humanism. According to the art-ivist Louise Abomba it is necessary to talk soul to soul to understand the richness of Cameroonian artists: “They are like Cameroonian donuts, each has its own shape, its own elegance and its own taste and undoubtedly addictive."

medecin callbox wini.jpg

Marcel Tchopwe
 

Leuna 2 .jpeg

Noumbimboo Leuna
New Spirit

Aurélie Djiena, Labyrinthe .jpeg

Aurélie Djiena
New spirit

Alida Ymélé4.jpg

Alida Ymélé
New spirit

Tong Grâce Dorothée, Ndochi, 2022 (1).jpg

Grâce Dorothée Tong
New Spirit

 

Arnold Fokam, The keeper of the last sword fish.jpg

Arnold Fokam
 

Orant #3_HannahArchambault_edited.jpg

Beya Gille Gacha
 

IMG_0638.HEIC

Sesse Elangwe Ngeseli

193_dicokam_SITE_1.jpg

Du 2 Juin au 31 Juillet 2022

Découverte du lexique artistique de
la scène camerounaise 

Sous le commissariat de Mary-Lou Ngwe-Secke

Dans son espace de 350 m2 du 24 rue Béranger, la 193 Gallery part à la découverte du lexique artistique de la scène camerounaise en présentant les œuvres de huit artistes contemporains. Ce panorama éclectique met en lumière tout l’effervescence culturelle du Cameroun qui trouve aujourd’hui une résonance sur la scène internationale.

La scène camerounaise est constituée dit-on de 4 générations, dont la première prend vraiment racine dans les années 40-60. Elle se dessine et s’illumine progressivement avec “les grands” comme Barthélémy Toguo, mais aussi Hervé Youmbi, Justine Gaga, Salifou Lindou, Joël Mpah Doh et bien d’autres. La scène présente une solidarité hors norme et chaque génération vient épauler la suivante et la guider sur les voies de l’art. C’est l’arrivée tardive des premières écoles des Beaux-Arts (vers 2009-2010) qui va former les plus jeunes générations à la “grande manière”, remettant ainsi le figuratif au goût du jour tout en générant des initiatives toujours plus intéressantes. Toutefois, se sont bien les “anciens” qui approfondissent leur formation hors les murs et leur donnent tant bien que mal les clés pour comprendre le monde dans lequel ils.elles sont appelés à évoluer. 

Les artistes de la scène frappent de par leur nombre et leur diversité. Ce n’est toutefois toujours pas ce qui est mis en avant à l’heure où on parle encore de LA scène africaine en oubliant le pluriel qui fait sa force.

Matérialiser sa curiosité est bien l’acte de se déplacer, d’aller voir, interroger, comprendre. Si Vasari à son époque est parti à la rencontre des plus incroyables artistes qui peuplaient les terres de son pays, c’est aujourd’hui à nous de partir recueillir les mots de ces peintres et sculpteurs qui nourrissent une scène encore trop peu étudiée. Il est pour cela nécessaire de suivre les pas des grand.e.s qui nous précèdent et de les aider à porter le flambeau qu’ils ont si vaillamment embrasé.

 

La scène camerounaise est complexe, riche et forte d’une ambiance familiale à toute épreuve. Elle ne s’arrête pas aux frontières du Kamer, et enlace aussi ses enfants de la métropole, qui ravivent des questions toujours plus importantes et frappantes d’humanisme. D’après l’art-iviste Louise Abomba il est nécessaire de se parler d’âme à âme pour comprendre la richesse des artistes camerounais : “Ils sont comme les beignets camerounais, chacun a sa propre forme, sa propre élégance et son goût et indubitablement addictif."

 - Mary-Lou Ngwe-Secke -

medecin callbox wini.jpg

Marcel Tchopwe
 

Leuna 2 .jpeg

Noumbimboo Leuna
New Spirit

Aurélie Djiena, Labyrinthe .jpeg

Aurélie Djiena
New spirit

Alida Ymélé4.jpg

Alida Ymélé
New spirit

Tong Grâce Dorothée, Ndochi, 2022 (1).jpg

Grâce Dorothée Tong
New Spirit

 

Arnold Fokam, The keeper of the last sword fish.jpg

Arnold Fokam
 

Orant #3_HannahArchambault_edited.jpg

Beya Gille Gacha
 

IMG_0638.HEIC

Sesse Elangwe Ngeseli