JOHN YUYI

Taiwan

PRESENTATION

John Yuyi born in Taiwan in 1991, now based in New York, is an artist strongly influenced by her interest and experience in modeling, photography and fashion design. As a child in Taipei, she would often sketch and paint with water colors. After graduating from Shih Chien University with a degree in fashion design, Yuyi launched her own swimwear collection and interned with internationally renowned artist and designer, Jason Wu.

Her body of work sits at the intersection of youth culture, fame, and biting social commentary. Yuyi exploits the iconography of mass culture by projecting images onto the human form, grappling with ideas of self and the economics of identity. Her process typically involves very few materials, often exhibiting the nude form altered by temporary tattoos of her own creation. She describes her work as playful, unexpected, and curious.

 

Since 2014 John Yuyi has been using "temporary tattoo" as her primary art form, mostly focusing on the effects of technology and social media, and utilizing the human body as her canvas.

Her artworks have been published by many well-known media such as i-D, DAZED, and the New York Times, which commissioned her to create 9 pages of artwork for publication in the paper. After over 4 years of experimentation, John Yuyi successfully developed the concept of "temporary tattoo" as her own representative art media. Her impact with this concept has led her to be recognized by Forbes Magazine in their category "30 under 30 Asia 2018 - The Arts".

The background of having a Bachelor degree in Fashion Design from Shih Chien University gives her work a strong fashion component and has attracted the attention of much of the fashion media seeking to interview her and publish her works. Added to this John Yuyi has also been frequently invited by a number of fashion brands like KENZO, CHANEL, and GUCCI, which commissioned her to create one of the most popular meme in the well-publicized #TFWGucci Meme project.

She has been exhibited in New York, Los Angeles, London, Shanghai and Taipei. 

ARTWORKS

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

Manifest of Freedom, 193 Gallery, Paris, France 

Data Dating, Watermans Art Center, London, England 

2019 

Group exhibition Data Dating, Galerie Charlot, Paris, France

Group exhibtion Taipei Dangdai, Taipei 

2018 

The Art Vacancy presents The Next Gen: John Yuyi, SITE 57, New York, USA

My (Temporary) Self, Make Room, Los Angeles, USA

John Yuyi, Gallery Vacancy, Shanghai, China

PRESS

EXHIBITION AT THE 193 GALLERY

MANIFEST OF FREEDOM
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

JOHN YUYI

Taiwan

PRÉSENTATION

John Yuyi née à Taiwan en 1991, maintenant basé à New York, est une artiste fortement influencée par son expérience dans le domaine du mannequinat, de la photographie et du design de mode. Enfant, à Taipei, elle faisait souvent des croquis et peignait à l'aquarelle. Après avoir obtenu un diplôme en design de mode à l'université de Shih Chien, Yuyi a lancé sa propre collection de maillots de bain et a effectué un stage auprès de l'artiste et designer de renommée internationale Jason Wu.

Son œuvre se situe à l'intersection de la culture des jeunes, de la célébrité et des commentaires sociaux mordants. Yuyi exploite l'iconographie de la culture de masse en projetant des images sur la forme humaine, en s'attaquant aux idées de soi et à l'économie de l'identité. Son processus implique généralement très peu de matériaux, exposant souvent la forme nue altérée par des tatouages temporaires de sa propre création. Elle décrit son travail comme étant ludique, inattendu et curieux.

 

John Yuyi utilise depuis 2014 le "tatouage temporaire" comme forme d'art principale, en se concentrant principalement sur les effets de la technologie et des médias sociaux, et en utilisant le corps humain comme toile.

Ses œuvres ont été publiées par de nombreux médias connus tels que i-D, DAZED et le New York Times, qui lui a commandé 9 pages d'œuvres d'art pour les publier dans le journal. Après plus de 4 ans d'expérimentation, John Yuyi a développé avec succès le concept de "tatouage temporaire" comme son propre média artistique représentatif. Son impact sur ce concept lui a valu d'être reconnue par le magazine Forbes dans sa catégorie "30 under 30 Asia 2018 - The Arts".

Sa licence en design de mode de l'université de Shih Chien confère à son travail une forte composante mode et a attiré l'attention de nombreux médias de mode qui ont cherché à l'interviewer et à publier ses œuvres. De plus, John Yuyi a été fréquemment invité par un certain nombre de marques de mode comme KENZO, CHANEL et GUCCI, qui l'ont chargée de créer l'un des mèmes les plus populaires du projet très médiatisé #TFWGucci Meme.

 

John Yuyi a été exposée à New York, Los Angeles, Londres, Taipei et Shanghai.

OEUVRES

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

Un manifeste de liberté, 193 Gallery, Paris, France 

Data Dating, Watermans Art Center, Londres, Angleterre 

2019 

Exposition collective Data Dating, Galerie Charlot, Paris, France

Exposition collective Taipei Dangdai, Taipei 

2018 

The Art Vacancy presents The Next Gen: John Yuyi, SITE 57, New York, USA

My (Temporary) Self, Make Room, Los Angeles, USA

John Yuyi, Gallery Vacancy, Shanghai, Chine

PRESSE

EXPOSITION À LA 193 GALLERY

UN MANIFESTE DE LIBERTÉ
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône