LAO XIE XIE

CHINA

PRESENTATION

Born in a poor village in the province of Sichuan, in the south-west of China, Lao Xie Xie started out as a Baozi (stuffed and steamed bread rolls, very popular in Chinese gastronomy) salesman. One day, in 2019, a friend gave him a camera. He then decides to immortalize moments of life knowing that he abhors perfection, any smooth image without asperities. This is the birth of Lao Xie Xie, translation "Mister Thank You".

 

We don't know much about the artist after all. On the other hand, he was able to assert himself with a visual identity his own, which became recognizable. The artist's photographs seem to want to clash a traditional culture with a culture of freedom for young people. In his photographs he evokes desire, pleasure and food. Lao Xie Xie does not care about the technical aspects of photography, nor about reality, nor about the ability of photography to capture reality in pictorial matter. His camera is a tool that can help him realize his ideas. 

 

Although his photographs subvert traditional Chinese connotations and free the body from the constraints of clothing, Lao Xie Xie does not wish to provoke but to attract attention. "Each of my photographs is a punch in the face, you have to stop and look at it more". Dynamic, anarchic, eventful; his photographs deliver the message in a blatant way. "People waste millions of words, and in the end they talk about nothing," he says. "We live in an age where we're bombarded with images every minute, so it's best not to waste people's time, to speak frankly, to be true."

 

The artist currently lives in Shanghai and has exhibited his work in Thailand.

ARTWORKS

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

Un manifeste de liberté, 193 Gallery, Paris, France 

Shanghai no why, 23 Gallery, Bangkok, Thaïlande 

China 555, Green Lantern Gallery, Bangkok, Thaïlande

PRESSES

EXHIBITION AT THE 193 GALLERY

MANIFEST OF FREEDOM
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

LAO XIE XIE

CHINE

PRÉSENTATION

Né dans un village pauvre de la province de Sichuan, au sud-ouest de la Chine, Lao Xie Xie débute en tant que vendeur de Baozi, (petits pains farcis et cuits à la vapeur très populaire dans la gastronomie chinoise). Un jour, en 2019, un ami lui offre un appareil photo. Il décide alors d’immortaliser des moments de vie tout en sachant qu’il exècre la perfection, toute image lisse et sans aspérités. C’est la naissance de Lao Xie Xie, traduction “Monsieur Merci”.

On ne sait finalement pas grand chose sur l'artiste. En revanche, il a pu s'affirmer avec une identité visuelle bien à lui, devenue reconnaissable. Les photographies de l'artiste semblent vouloir heurter une culture traditionnelle avec une culture de liberté pour les jeunes. Dans ses photographies il évoque le désir, le plaisir et la nourriture. Lao Xie Xie ne se soucie pas des aspects techniques de la photographie, ni de la réalité, ni de la capacité de la photographie à capturer la réalité dans la matière picturale. Son appareil photo est un outil qui peut l'aider à réaliser ses idées. 

Bien que ses photographies subvertissent les connotations traditionnelles chinoises et libèrent le corps des contraintes vestimentaires, Lao Xie Xie ne souhaite pas provoquermais attirer l'attention. "Chacune de mes photographies est un coup de poing dans la figure, vous devez vous arrêter et la regarder davantage". Dynamique, anarchique, mouvementé ; ses photographies délivrent le message de manière flagrante. "Les gens gaspillent des millions de mots et, à la fin, ils ne parlent de rien", dit-il. "Nous vivons à une époque où nous sommes bombardés d'images à chaque minute, alors il vaut mieux ne pas gaspiller le temps des gens, parler franchement, être vrai."

L'artiste vit actuellement à Shanghai et a exposé ses oeuvres en Thaïlande.

OEUVRES

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

Un manifeste de liberté, 193 Gallery, Paris, France 

Shanghai no why, 23 Gallery, Bangkok, Thaïlande 

China 555, Green Lantern Gallery, Bangkok, Thaïlande

PRESSES

EXPOSITION À LA 193 GALLERY

UN MANIFESTE DE LIBERTÉ
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône