THE FORGOTTEN ONES

THAILAND, INDIA, SENEGAL

 

LES OUBLIÉES

BY SAMUEL CUETO

FROM OCT. 24th TO DEC. 08th, 2019

PRESENTATION

Samuel Cueto is a Spanish-Algerian artist born in 1977.

After having learned the ropes in the world of free fight and hip hop, Samuel Cueto gradually switched to film photography on the advice of photographer Armen Djerrahian “When you take digital photos you make images, when you make film, you take photos. ”

Street portrait artist, Samuel Cueto has concentrated his work on the social outcast, the invisible who live far from city centers. Originally from the working-class area of this "forgotten" France, the photographer logically pays tribute to his fellows, of whom no one seems to care anymore.

Samuel Cueto also tells us about him through the portraits he takes of people with apparently chaotic journeys: damaged but authentic beings, who exert a magnetic beauty on the spectator. While many photographers have tried to capture the world of ghettos and suburbs without succeeding in going beyond the exoticism of safari photography, Samuel Cueto is not afraid of getting his hands dirty and showing the dirty and grimy backside of our society. The photographer crystallizes with his camera our most current issues: acceptance of the other in his difference, his experience, and his origins.

After a first exhibition in 2016 at the Argentic Gallery consecrated to his “Thai” work, which will be presented in Arles, Samuel Cueto returns in 2018 to the 193 Gallery with the exhibition “The forgotten ones” which highlights his most beautiful photos from Thailand, India and Senegal, taken between 2014 and 2018.
 

 

THAILAND
Samuel Cueto is a Thailand lover. He went there 6 times between 2014 and 2016 to take his series of photographs which gave rise to his first major exhibition “City of Smiles”.

Mainly taken in the Bangkok, Pattaya and Phuket suburbs, these photos are far from the postcard landscapes: local gangs, traffickers of all kinds, prostitutes live in another reality, yet a few minutes from idyllic beaches.

Samuel Cueto pays tribute to these marginalized people, to their fragility, to their humanity.


 

INDIA
His trip to India in March 2018 focused on the cities of Calcutta and Varanassi.

The desire to discover Calcutta came to him from a report on Mother Teresa. Fascinated by her refusal of fatality and her fight for the most underprivileged, Samuel Cueto wanted to discover all these Teresa mothers who fight daily in the street, in schools, to give a chance to those who were born in bad caste .

In these cities without tourists, locals do not understand what the photographer comes to do “Why are you coming here? There is nothing to do, there are only poor people here ... "

He interacts with children who sell a little food to earn their living, night workers who survive in unhealthy slums, and only go out at night like bats.
 

In Varanassi, Samuel Cueto meets many people, including a postcard seller who was burnt with acid by her alcoholic husband when she asked for a divorce. No rights for the street people, the husband was not even fined. Faced with the harshness of these lives, a last ride on the mystical Ganges, ends a journey full of encounters and emotions.

 

SENEGAL

Fan of the great Malick Sidibé and Seydou Keita, Samuel Cueto wanted to pay tribute to West Africa.

Samuel Cueto was marked by the welcome and the extreme kindness of the Senegalese. For once, even the police greeted him with disconcerting kindness. Leaving with his team of photographers, they went in Ouakam - Dakar suburb - to see life, the real one.
 

He spends time with Senegalese rastas and “Baye Fall” (Senegalese Muslims who have their own interpretation of Islam) and share magical moments in huge sound systems of over 1000 people on the beach. In Ouakam rough areas, he focuses his work on Koranic schools children where lessons are given directly in an outdoor courtyard. Smiles are everywhere, happiness sometimes comes from little ...

In 2019, Samuel Cueto plans to do a long trip to Jamaica and will come back this time with many color film photos.

ARTIST

SAMUEL CUETO
Show More

ARTWORKS

PRESS RELEASE

INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
FIND US
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

LES OUBLIÉS

THAÏLANDE, INDE, SÉNÉGAL

Titre 3

PRÉSENTATION

Samuel Cueto est un artiste d’origine hispano-algérienne né en 1977.

 

Après avoir fait ses classes dans le monde du free fight et du hip hop, Samuel Cueto est progressivement passé à la photographie argentique sur les conseils du photographe Armen Djerrahian “Quand tu fais de la photo numérique tu fais de l’image, quand tu fais de l’argentique, tu fais de la photo.”

Portraitiste de rue, Samuel Cueto a concentré son travail sur les laissés pour compte, les invisibles qui vivent loin des centres villes. Originaire des quartiers populaires de cette france “oubliée”, le photographe rend logiquement hommage à ses semblables dont personne ne semble plus faire attention.

 

Samuel Cueto nous parle aussi de lui au travers des portraits qu'il prend de personnes au parcours en apparence chaotique : des êtres abimés mais authentiques, et qui exercent une beauté magnétique sur le spectateur. Alors que de nombreux photographes ont essayé de capturer le monde des ghettos et des banlieues sans parvenir à dépasser l'exotisme de la photographie de safari, Samuel Cueto n'a pas peur de se salir les mains et de montrer l'envers sale et crasseux de notre société. Le photographe cristallise avec son appareil nos problématiques les plus actuelles: acceptation de l’autre dans sa différence, son vécu, et ses origines.

 

Après une première exposition en 2016 à la Galerie Argentic consacrée à son travail “thailandais” qui sera dans la foulée présenté à Arles, Samuel Cueto revient en 2018 à la 193 Gallery avec l’exposition “Les oubliés” qui met en avant ses plus belles photos de Thailande, d’Inde et du Sénégal, prises entre 2014 et 2018.

 

LA THAÏLANDE 

Samuel Cueto est un amoureux de la Thailande. Il y est allé 6 fois entre 2014 et 2016 pour réaliser sa série de photographies qui a donné lieu à sa première grande exposition “City of Smiles”.

Principalement réalisées dans les banlieues de Bangkok, Pattaya et Phuket, ces photos sont loin des paysages de carte postale : gangs locaux, trafiquants de tout genre, prostitués vivent dans une autre réalité, pourtant à quelques minutes des plages paradisiaques.

 

Samuel Cueto rend hommage à ces marginaux, à leur fragilité, à leur humanité.


 

L’ INDE

Son voyage en Inde en Mars 2018 s’est concentré sur les villes de Calcutta et Varanassi.

 

L’envie de découvrir Calcutta lui est venu d’un reportage sur Mère Teresa. Fasciné par son refus de la fatalité et son combat pour les plus démunis, Samuel Cueto a voulu découvrir toutes ces mères Teresa qui se battent au quotidien dans la rue, dans les écoles, pour donner une chance à ceux qui sont nés dans la mauvaise caste.

Dans ces villes sans touristes, les habitants ne comprennent pas ce que le photographe vient y faire “Pourquoi viens tu ici? Il n’y a rien à faire, il n’y a que des pauvres ici…” 

Il échange avec des enfants qui vendent un peu de nourriture pour gagner leurs vies, des travailleuses de nuit qui survivent dans taudis insalubres, et ne sortent que la nuit comme des chauves souris. 

 

A Varanassi, Samuel Cueto fait de nombreuses rencontres, notamment une vendeuse de carte postale qui a été brûlée à l’acide par son mari alcoolique quand elle lui a demandé le divorce. Aucun droit pour les gens de la rue, le mari n’a même pas reçu une amende. Face à la dureté de ces vies, une dernière balade sur le mystique Gange, clôt un voyage fort en rencontres et en émotion.

 

LE SÉNÉGAL 

Fan des grands Malick Sidibé et Seydou Keita, Samuel Cueto voulait rendre hommage à l’Afrique de l’ouest.

 

Samuel Cueto a été marqué par l’accueil et l'extrême gentillesse des sénégalais. Pour une fois, même la police l’accueillait avec une bienveillance déconcertante. Parti avec son équipe de photographes, ils sont allés dans la banlieue de Dakar à Ouakam pour voir la vie, la vraie. 

 

Il passe du temps avec des rasta sénégalais et des “Baye Fall” (musulmans sénégalais qui ont leur propre interprétation de l’islam) et partagent des moments magiques dans des immenses sound system de plus de 1000 personnes sur la plage.  Dans les bas-fonds de Ouakam, il focalise son travail sur les enfants des écoles coraniques où les cours se font directement dans une cour extérieure. Les sourires sont partout, le bonheur tient parfois à peu de choses...

En 2019, Samuel Cueto prévoit de faire un long voyage en Jamaique et va revenir cette fois avec de nombreuses photos argentiques en couleur

ARTISTE

SAMUEL CUETO
Show More

OEUVRES

REVUE DE PRESSES

INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône