Technical informations

Artist: EBUKA MICHAEL

Title: Faceless - Hidden Identites

Dimensions: 60 x 90 cm

Technique: Iphone photography / media mix

Year: 2019

Edition: 1/7

Available in 30 x 40 cm format

 

Unique artwork signed on the back by the artist and delivered with the 193 Gallery certificate.

 

 

Born in Nigeria in 2000, Ebuka Michael is studying photography and graphic design at the University of Lagos. An avowed fan of the 8th art, he began to express his sensitivity through photography. Strongly influenced by his environment, Lagos, a megalopolis that teems with energy and fascinates him, his gaze focuses on expressing the present moment through the life scenes of his contemporaries. In his eyes, color translates with ease the human density and the feelings aroused by these moments charged with intensity. Aware of the joy aroused by his images in colorful tones with those around him, Ebuka manages to capture beauty while sharing it with as many people as possible.His images crossed by lightning pastel, dreamy, are often located on the banks of the river Iboko because “he embodies the door of Ogun. I live in Iboko and this river which actually bears the name of Ogun river, I call it the Iboko river since I entered my series there. It is an emblematic space of my art, I discovered it in 2019. After taking my first photographs there, I was very surprised at the unparalleled aesthetic that was revealed ”, specifies he.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

 

Deeply inspired by documentary photography, music, nature, his community or even his relationship to God, Ebuka means "God is great", the young photographer continues his incessant exploration. “I define myself as an iPhone photographer because this tool allows me to tell the stories that mark me and that I observe in Lagos, where there is always an event happening that needs to be captured immediately. I will not be able to carry out such stories by means of a camera, ”he confides.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

 

Always guided by his mastery of color, on the look out for new ideas that feed his creativity, he pursues his experimentation head on with an obvious style and his studies. This artist admits to being influenced by the colorful world of famous photographer Prince Jyesi and Danny Wonders. Ebuka Michael's work is very successful internationally and has already conquered the magazines Vogue Italia, Afropunk, Vsco. His works brimming with communicative energy have also flourished the streets of London.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

 

Ebuka Michael is currently working on “Faceless”, an inspiring series that he wishes to exhibit in Lagos, “his city of heart” and in multiple metropolises on the continent.

EBUKA MICHAEL - Faceless - Hidden Identities (Nigeria)

  • PRICE

    € 2,800

  • DELIVERY

    Free delivery in Paris and the inner suburbs.

  • PAYMENT

    For payments in installments, please contact us on +33 6 03 70 78 26 or on info@193gallery.com 100% secure online payment with SSL Secure Shopping.

Informations techniques 

Artiste : EBUKA MICHAEL

Titre : Faceless - Hidden Identites

Dimensions : 60 x 90 cm 

Technique : Photographie Iphone / mix media

Année : 2019 

Édition : 1/7

Existe en format 30 x 40 cm 

 

Oeuvre unique signée au dos par l'artiste et livrée avec le certificat de la 193 Gallery.

 

 

Né au Nigeria en 2000, Ebuka Michael est étudiant en photographie et en graphisme à l'université de Lagos. Fan avoué de 8e art, il a commencé à exprimer sa sensibilité à travers la photographie. Fortement influencé par son environnement, Lagos, mégalopole qui grouille d'énergie et le fascine, son regard s'attache à exprimer l'instant présent au fil des scènes de vie de ses contemporains. A ses yeux, la couleur traduit avec aisance la densité humaine et les sentiments suscités par ces moments chargés d'intensité. Conscient de la joie suscitée par ses images aux tonalités colorées auprès de son entourage, Ebuka parvient dès lors à saisir la beauté tout en la partageant avec le plus grand nombre Ses images traversées de fulgurances pastelles, rêveuses, se situent souvent sur les bords du fleuve Iboko car « il incarne la porte d'Ogun. Je vis à Iboko et ce fleuve qui porte en fait le nom de rivière d'Ogun, je l'appelle le fleuve d'Iboko depuis j'y ai saisi mes séries. C'est un espace emblématique de mon art, je l'ai découvert en 2019. Après y avoir réalisé mes premières photographies, j'ai été très surpris de l'esthétique hors-pair qui s'en révélait », précise-t-il.

 

Profondément inspiré par la photographie documentaire, la musique, la nature, sa communauté ou encore sa relation à Dieu, Ebuka signifie « Dieu est grand », le jeune photographe poursuit son incessante exploration. « Je me définis comme un photographe de l'iphone car cet outil me permet de raconter les histoires qui me marquent et que j'observe à Lagos où il se passe sans cesse un événement à capturer dans l'immédiateté. Je ne pourrai pas réaliser de tels récits au moyen d'un appareil photo », confie-t-il.

 

Toujours guidé par sa maîtrise de la couleur, à l'affût de nouvelles idées qui nourrissent sa créativité, il poursuit de front, son expérimentation avec un évident style et ses études. Cet artiste avoue être influencé par l'univers coloré du célèbre photographe Prince Jyesi et de Danny Wonders. Les travaux d'Ebuka Michael connaissent un vif succès à l'international et ont déjà conquis les magazines Vogue Italia, Afropunk, Vsco. Ses travaux débordant d'énergie communicative ont de plus, fleuri les rues de Londres.

 

Ebuka Michael travaille actuellement autour de « Faceless », une série inspirante qu'il souhaite exposer à Lagos, « sa ville de cœur » et au sein de multiples métropoles du continent.

EBUKA MICHAEL - Faceless - Hidden Identities (Nigeria)

  • Livraison offerte sur Paris et petite couronne.

INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône