CUBA

RENÉ FRANCISCO RODRÍGUEZ

PRESENTATION

Born in Holguín in 1960, René Francisco is one of the most important contemporary Cuban artists. He attended ISA (Instituto Superior de Arte) from 1977 to 1982,  year of his diploma. In 1989, he became a teacher there and was very popular because of his rather unorthodox methods. Experimentation, pedagogy and community intervention define for René Francisco work that is used as a transformation agent and that constitutes a tool for his power of mobilization. This change was brought about by this generation of Cuban artists who firmly believed in the role of art as a driving force and a tool for transfiguring life, a movement that marked a new artistic philosophy in Cuba. René Francisco notably taught artists such as Alexandre Arrechea, Wilfredo Prieto and Duvier del Dago Fernandez who subsequently gained notoriety on the international artistic scene.

René Francisco is an artist who has worked extensively for the cause of conceptual art and community development. For him, art is a means of research and social transformation, a way of transgressing the conscience of peoples, as an object of denunciation which is based on sciences such as sociology and psychology. Thus René Francisco leaves the traditional framework of the exhibition, changes his language and goes in search of experimentation, community intervention and the bases of an education trying to bring together pedagogy, art and life. His work led to the creation of the famous project: Desde una Pragmatica Pedagogica (DUPP), an important new educational initiative of the Higher Art Institute.​ For many years, René Francisco was a professor and director of the DUPP gallery, which had a significant ideological impact both locally and internationally. He won - with the DUPP gallery - the price of the National Curator awarded by the National Council of Visual Arts in 2001; and in 2000, the UNESCO Arts Prize at the 7th Havana Biennale. In 2007, at the Venice Biennale, René Francisco presented all the work he carried out since 2003 for El Romerillo, one of the slums of Havana. Having received a grant from a Berlin foundation, René Francisco decided to use it to help the inhabitants of this district where, among other things, he renovated houses and gardens.

Besides this flawless commitment, what René Francisco loves most is painting. He uses a meticulous, pointillist technique with a spatula. Most of his paintings have as their theme sociology and politics.

In 2001, he received an honorary doctorate of fine arts from the San Francisco Art Institute in San Francisco, California. He has been artist in residence in various institutions, notably at the Mataro Art Center in Barcelona - Spain (2008); the Fund for Cuban Artists, New York (2004); Mattress Factory in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (2004); the Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf - Germany (2003); Artist residency Hersliya - Israel (1999); La Chaux-de-Fonds Museum of Fine Arts - Switzerland (1997); and the Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst in Aachen (1996).​

He participated in numerous personal and group exhibitions in the United States, Central and South America, China and Europe. He participated in particular in the Venice Biennale in 1999 and 2007, in the 26th Biennial of Sao Paulo in 2004, in the 2nd Biennial of Thessaloniki in 2009 and there are countless his participations since 1997 in the Biennials of Havana.

Some of his most remarkable personal exhibitions are: “the paintings of yesterday and tomorrow” (Galerie Servando, Havana, 2010); Interpreter (Villa Manuela gallery, Havana, 2009); Two points of view (Pan American Art Projects, Miami, 2008); Nin's yard (9th Havana Biennale, Miramar Shopping Center, Havana, 2006); “Pending list” (Galerie Nina Menocal, Mexico DF - Mexico, 2005); “Debt adjustment” (8th Havana Biennial, National Museum of Fine Arts, Havana, 2003); “Down with René Francisco” (Gallery 106, Austin, Texas, 2002); and “Tubosutra” (Goch Museum, Germany, 2001 / Habana Gallery, Havana, 1999).

ARTWORKS

EXHIBITION AT THE 193 GALLERY

CUBA : ¿ PA' DONDE VAMOS ?
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
FIND US
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

CUBA

RENÉ FRANCISCO RODRÍGUEZ

PRÉSENTATION

Né à Holguín en 1960, René Francisco est un des plus importants artistes cubains contemporains. Il a fréquenté l'ISA (Instituto Superior de Arte) de 1977 à 1982, année de son diplôme. En 1989, il y devient professeur et est très populaire en raison de ses méthodes peu orthodoxes. L’expérimentation, la pédagogie et l’intervention communautaire définissent pour René Francisco un travail qui est utilisé comme agent de transformation et qui constitue un outil pour son pouvoir de mobilisation. Ce changement a été porté par cette génération d'artistes cubains qui croyait fermement dans le rôle de l'art comme une force motrice et un outil pour transfigurer la vie, un mouvement qui a marqué une nouvelle philosophie artistique à Cuba. ​René Francisco ​a notamment enseigné à des artistes tels que Alexandre Arrechea, Wilfredo Prieto et Duvier del Dago Fernandez qui ont par la suite acquis une notoriété sur la scène artistique internationale.

René Francisco est un artiste qui a beaucoup œuvré pour la cause de l'art conceptuel et le développement communautaire. Pour lui, l’art est un moyen de recherche et de transformation sociale, une façon de transgresser la conscience des peuples, comme objet de dénonciation qui s’appuie sur des sciences telles que la sociologie et la psychologie. Ainsi René Francisco sort du cadre traditionnel de l'exposition, modifie son langage et va à la recherche de l'expérimentation, de l’intervention communautaire et des bases d’un enseignement tentant de rassembler la pédagogie, l’art et la vie. Son travail a conduit à la création du fameux projet : Desde una Pragmatica Pedagogica (DUPP), une nouvelle initiative pédagogique importante de l'Institut Supérieur d'Art. Pendant de nombreuses années, René Francisco a donc été professeur et directeur de la galerie DUPP, qui a eu un impact idéologique important tant au niveau local qu’international. Il a remporté - avec la galerie DUPP - le prix du Curateur National décerné par le Conseil National des Arts Visuels en 2001; et en 2000, le Prix des Arts de l'UNESCO à la 7e Biennale de La Havane. En 2007, à la Biennale de Venise, René Francisco présente tout le travail qu'il a mené depuis 2003 en faveur d'El Romerillo, un des bidonvilles de La Havane. Ayant reçu une subvention d'une fondation berlinoise, René Francisco avait alors décidé de l'utiliser pour aider les habitants de ce quartier où il a entre autre rénové maisons et jardins.

À côté de cet engagement sans faille, ce que René Francisco aime le plus, c'est la peinture. Il utilise une technique méticuleuse, pointilliste avec une spatule. La plupart de ses toiles ont pour thème la sociologie et la politique.

En 2001, il a reçu un doctorat honorifique en beaux-arts du San Francisco Art Institute de San Francisco, en Californie. Il a été artiste en résidence dans diverses institutions, notamment au Centre d'art de Mataro à Barcelone - Espagne (2008); le Fonds des artistes cubains, New York (2004); la Mattress Factory à Pittsburgh, Pennsylvanie (2004); la Künstlerhaus Schloss Wiepersdorf - Allemagne (2003); Résidence d'artiste Hersliya - Israël (1999); Musée des beaux-arts La Chaux-de-Fonds - Suisse (1997); et le Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst à Aix-la-Chapelle (1996).

Il a participé à de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives aux Etats-Unis, en Amérique Centrale et du Sud, en Chine et en Europe. Il a notamment participé à la Biennale de Venise en 1999 et 2007, à la 26ème Biennale de Sao Paulo en 2004, à la 2ème Biennale de Thessalonique en 2009 et on ne compte plus ses participations depuis 1997 aux Biennales de La Havane.

Certaines de ses expositions personnelles les plus remarquables sont : “les peintures d’hier et de demain” (Galerie Servando, La Havane, 2010); Interprète (galerie Villa Manuela, La Havane, 2009); Deux points de vue (Pan American Art Projects, Miami, 2008); Nin's yard (9e biennale de 

La Havane, Centre commercial Miramar, La Havane, 2006); “Liste en attente” (Galerie Nina Menocal, Mexico DF - Mexico, 2005); “Ajustement de la dette” (8e Biennale de La Havane, Musée national des beaux-arts, La Havane, 2003); “Down with René Francisco” (Galerie 106, Austin, Texas, 2002); et “Tubosutra” (Musée Goch, Allemagne, 2001 / Galerie Habana, La Havane, 1999).

OEUVRES

EXPOSITION À LA 193 GALLERY

¿ PA' DONDE VAMOS ?
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
NOUS RETROUVER
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône