FRANCE

SAMUEL CUETO

PRESENTATION

Samuel Cueto is a Spanish-Algerian artist born in 1977.

After having learned the ropes in the world of free fight and hip hop with the band 2 Trépides, Samuel Cueto gradually switched to film photography on the photographer Armen Djerrahian advice "When you take digital photos you make pictures, when you make film, you take pictures."

Street portrait artist, Samuel Cueto has concentrated his work on the soial outcast, the invisible who live far from city centers. Originally from the working-class area of this "forgotten" France, the photographer logically pays tribute to his fellows, of whom no one seems to care anymore.

Samuel Cueto reflects himself through portraits he takes of people with apparently chaotic journeys: damaged but authentic beings, who exert a magnetic beauty on the spectator. While many photographers have tried to capture the world of ghettos and suburbs without succeeding in going beyond the exoticism of safari photography, Samuel Cueto is not afraid of getting his hands dirty and showing the dirty and grimy backside of our society. The photographer crystallizes with his camera our most current issues: acceptance of the other in his difference, his experience, and his origins.

After a first exhibition in 2016 at the Argentic Gallery devoted to his “Thai” work which will be presented in Arles, Samuel Cueto returns in 2018 to the 193 Gallery with the exhibition “The forgotten ones” which highlights his most beautiful photos from Thailand, India and Senegal, taken between 2014 and 2018.

ARTWORKS

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

SOLO SHOW

 

2019

FOTOFEVER, Paris, FR

URBAN ART FAIR, Paris, FR

Les Oubliés, 193 Gallery, Paris, FR

2016

Samuel Cueto, Galerie Argentic, Paris, FR

 

GROUP SHOW

2019

From Tokyo to Puerto Rico, 193 Gallery, Paris, FR

Humaniste un jour, humaniste toujours ! Voies off : Arles, Galerie Argentic, Arles, FR

2018

FESTIVAL ARGENTIK PHOTO, Champtoceaux / Orée d’Anjou, FR

 

CONFERENCE

2019

Atelier-Workshop à CE3P École de photographie

PRESS

EXHIBITIONS AT THE 193 GALLERY

THE FORGOTTEN ONES
FROM TOKYO TO PUERTO RICO
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

FRANCE

SAMUEL CUETO

PRÉSENTATION

Samuel Cueto est un artiste d’origine hispano-algérienne né en 1977.

 

Après avoir fait ses classes dans le monde du free fight et du hip hop, Samuel Cueto est progressivement passé à la photographie argentique sur les conseils du photographe Armen Djerrahian “Quand tu fais de la photo numérique tu fais de l’image, quand tu fais de l’argentique, tu fais de la photo.”

 

Portraitiste de rue, Samuel Cueto a concentré son travail sur les laissés pour compte, les invisibles qui vivent loin des centres villes. Originaire des quartiers populaires de cette france “oubliée”, le photographe rend logiquement hommage à ses semblables dont personne ne semble plus faire attention.

 

Samuel Cueto nous parle aussi de lui au travers des portraits qu'il prend de personnes au parcours en apparence chaotique : des êtres abimés mais authentiques, et qui exercent une beauté magnétique sur le spectateur. Alors que de nombreux photographes ont essayé de capturer le monde des ghettos et des banlieues sans parvenir à dépasser l'exotisme de la photographie de safari, Samuel Cueto n'a pas peur de se salir les mains et de montrer l'envers sale et crasseux de notre société. Le photographe cristallise avec son appareil nos problématiques les plus actuelles : acceptation de l’autre dans sa différence, son vécu, et ses origines.

 

Après une première exposition en 2016 à la Galerie Argentic consacrée à son travail “thailandais” qui sera dans la foulée présenté à Arles, Samuel Cueto revient en 2018 à la 193 Gallery avec l’exposition “Les oubliés” qui met en avant ses plus belles photos de Thailande, d’Inde et du Sénégal, prises entre 2014 et 2018.

OEUVRES

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

EXPOSITIONS PERSONNELLES

 

2019

FOTOFEVER, Paris, FR

URBAN ART FAIR, Paris, FR

Les Oubliés, 193 Gallery, Paris, FR

2016

Samuel Cueto, Galerie Argentic, Paris, FR

 

EXPOSITIONS COLLECTIVES

 

2019

From Tokyo to Puerto Rico, 193 Gallery, Paris, FR

Humaniste un jour, humaniste toujours ! Voies off : Arles, Galerie Argentic, Arles, FR

2018

FESTIVAL ARGENTIK PHOTO, Champtoceaux / Orée d’Anjou, FR

 

CONFÉRENCE

2019

Atelier-Workshop à CE3P École de photographie

PRESSE

EXPOSITIONS À LA 193 GALLERY

LES OUBLIES
FROM TOKYO TO PUERTO RICO
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône