JEAN-MARC HUNT
 

SOLO SHOW

MAY 19 - JULY 31

TI'PUNCH MOLOTOV

     Ti'Punch Molotov is an "Arranged Rum" that mixes revolution and claim, remedy and poison, at the same time engine of social power and cause of loss of control, where drunkenness becomes dehumanizing. Ti'Punch Molotov aims to reflect a diversity of perspectives and performative methods, which question communications and social relations, hierarchical in West Indian society. Ti'Punch Molotov contextualises social practices related to the creolisation of the world and historical and contemporary relations of domination. - Jean-Marc Hunt 
"My condition as a Negropolitan."
Also, it is possible to read in Jean-Marc Hunt's art a certain creolisation of the world through these great population movements creating new aesthetic and cultural forms. For the artist, this creolisation is a way of reinterpreting himself through the other. 
In the series Cosmogonic Tales, Jean-Marc Hunt presents a work based on paper. The latter refers to childhood and is considered the primary element of transmission. His works are thus a means of telling a story without any sense of reading, where each image is a work in itself, and which, taken as a whole, form a whole - a collective memory. 
The Black Paper series was made on the off-set plates of France Antilles (the local newspaper). In it, he questions the relationship between France and the West Indies, which is expressed above all through his condition as an Afro-descendant, always inferiorized in a territory overflowing with diversity.
"I love France but France doesn't know it, it ignores me. "
He also questions a certain neo-colonialism by noting the presence of the Ministry of Overseas France, which is still located in the same premises as the former Colonial Office. 
The Baronnerie series, presented for the first time in 2015 during Carifesta, is an opportunity for the artist to revisit a character from Haitian mythology derived from voodoo, that of Baron Samdi, the spirit of death who guards the cemeteries. 
With the Bloc Note series, Jean-Marc Hunt takes us into his intimacy. We take possession of his wife's notes, tracing their personal and professional paths and thoughts. For him, art is also a way of revealing himself.
The series Punch Molotov and Jardin Créole are linked. It is from this garden, at the end of his studio, that these series come. They represent the union of his worlds. We see the street, the traditions but also the stigmata of this nature, witness of their condition from slavery to nowadays. 
Promoted in 2015 to Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the Minister of Culture, the artist will represent the Guadeloupe Islands pavilion (off programmation) at the 58th Venice Biennale in 2019. 


Atelier2020(1).JPG

TI'PUNCH MOLOTOV 3D VIRTUAL TOUR

Screenshot (83).png

Presse

JEAN-MARC HUNT
 

SOLO SHOW

19 MAI - 31 JUILLET

TI'PUNCH MOLOTOV

      Ti’Punch Molotov est un “Rhum arrangé” qui mêle révolution et revendication, remède et poison, à la fois moteur de puissance sociale et cause de la perte de contrôle, où l’ivresse devient déshumanisante. Ti’Punch Molotov a pour objectif de rendre compte d’une diversité de perspectives et de méthodes performatives, qui interrogent communications et relations sociales, hiérarchisées dans la société antillaise. Ti’Punch Molotov contextualise les pratiques sociales liées à la créolisation du monde et les relations de dominations historiques et contemporaines.” - Jean-Marc Hunt 

“Ma condition de négropolitain.”

Également, il est possible de lire dans l’art de Jean-Marc Hunt une certaine créolisation du monde à travers ces grands mouvements de population créant de nouvelles formes esthétiques et culturelles. Pour l’artiste cette créolisation est une manière de se réinterpréter à travers l’autre. 

Dans la série Récits Cosmogoniques, Jean-Marc Hunt présente un travail basé sur le papier. Ce dernier fait référence à l’enfance et est considéré comme l’élément primaire de transmission. Ses œuvres sont ainsi pour lui un moyen de raconter une histoire sans sens de lecture, où chaque image serait une œuvre en soi, et qui, prisent dans leur globalité, forment un tout – une mémoire collective. 

La série Black Paper est réalisée sur les plaques off-set du France Antilles (le journal local). Il y interroge la relation entre la France et les Antilles qui s’exprime surtout à travers sa condition d’afro descendant, toujours infériorisé sur un territoire débordant de mixité.

« J’aime la France mais la France ne le sait pas, elle m’ignore. »

Il questionne également un certain néocolonialisme en constatant la présence du ministère des outre-mer, qui encore aujourd’hui se trouve dans les mêmes locaux que l’ancien bureau des colonies. 

La série Baronnerie, présentée pour la première fois en 2015 pendant le carifesta, est l’occasion pour l’artiste de revenir sur un personnage de la mythologie haïtienne issue du vaudou, celui du Baron Samdi, esprit de la mort qui garde les cimetières. 

Avec la série Bloc Note, Jean-Marc Hunt nous fait rentrer dans son intimité. On y prend possession des notes de sa femme, retraçant leurs parcours et leurs pensées intimes et professionnelles. Pour lui, l’art est aussi une manière de se dévoiler.

Les séries Punch Molotov et Jardin Créole sont liées. C’est de ce jardin, au bout de son atelier, que viennent ces séries. Elles représentent l’union de ses mondes. On y voit la rue, les traditions mais aussi les stigmates de cette nature, témoin de leur condition allant de l’esclavage à nos jours. 

Promu en 2015 Chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres par le ministre de la culture, l’artiste représente en 2019 le pavillon-off des îles de Guadeloupe lors de la 58e biennale de Venise. 

Atelier2020(1).JPG

TI'PUNCH MOLOTOV VISITE 3D

Screenshot (83).png

Presse