MANIFEST OF FREEDOM

CHINA

 

MANIFEST OF FREEDOM

CURATED BY LISA MIQUET

WITH: REN HANG, LIN ZHIPENG, JOHN YUYI, LI HUI, LAO XIE XIE, RACHEL LUI, KA XIOXI, YUYANG LIU, JAN SOL 

FROM 02th SEP. TO 18th OCT. 2020

PRESENTATION

After interesting themselves to contemporary Japanese, Chilean, Caribbean, Moroccan or Mexican art, the 193 Gallery offers us a zoom on the photography of Chinese youth. The exhibition "Manifest of freedom" aims to provide an overview of young Chinese photography.

 

From September 2th to October 18th, a group exhibition will provide a panorama of this youth by crossing different points of view and photographic approaches. The pop portraits of John Yuyi will meet the raw clichés of Lao Xie Xie, the animated evenings of Ka Xiaoxi will cross paths with the intimate work of Su Yang. Finally, the sensuality of Li Hui's images will contrast with Yuyang Liu's documentary approach. These emerging talents will be complemented by a few shots by Ren Hang, whose archives never cease to amaze us with their visual genius.

 

For 50 years, Chinese photography was the government's propaganda tool. Only party members were allowed to own a camera. Since then, the Chinese youth have taken up the photographic medium to express themselves.


They denounce censorship, question social pressure, the brutality of a society or simply celebrate life, love and even its singularity.


Reng Hang, the shooting star of photography, has paved the way for a whole generation.
His raw and uncomplicated images have inspired his heirs and shaped a photographic writing.


The imagery of Chinese youth is today intimate, without taboos, and bodies are shown in their simplest cameras. It is also nourished by web culture and displays a "do it yourself" aesthetic, where the hard light of the flash becomes a signature.


In spite of government censorship, these images deal with sexuality, gender, partying, identity, social conventions, the couple, among other things, and sign a true manifest of freedom.

Download links

ARTISTS

JOHN YUYI
LI HUI
YUYANG LIU
REN HANG
KA XIAOXI
LAO XIE XIE
SU YANG
Show More

ARTWORKS

REVUE DE PRESSES

Je suis un paragraphe. Cliquez ici pour ajouter votre propre texte et me modifier. C'est facile.

INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

UN MANIFESTE DE LIBERTÉ

CHINE ET TAÏWAN

 

UN MANIFESTE DE LIBERTÉ

CURATÉE PAR LISA MIQUET

AVEC : REN HANG, JOHN YUYI (TAÏWAN), LI HUI, LAO XIE XIE, KA XIAOXI, YUYANG LIU, SU YANG 

DU 02 SEP. AU 18 OCT. 2020

PRÉSENTATION

Après s'être intéressée à l'art contemporain japonais, chilien, caribéen, marocain ou mexicain, la 193 Gallery nous propose un zoom sur la photographie de la jeunesse chinoise. L’exposition « un manifeste de liberté » a pour but de faire un tour d’horizon de la jeune photographie chinoise.

Du 2 septembre au 18 octobre, une exposition collective dressera un panorama de cette jeunesse en croisant différents points de vue et approches photographiques. Les portraits pop de John Yuyi recontreront les clichés crus de Lao Xie Xie, les soirées animées de Ka Xiaoxi croiseront le travail intime de Su Yang. Enfin, la sensualité des images de Li Hui fera contrastes avec l’approche documentaire Yuyang Liu. Ces talents émergents seront complétés par quelques clichés de Ren Hang, dont les archives ne cessent de nous épater par leur génie visuel.

Durant 50 ans, la photographie chinoise était l’outil de la propagande du gouvernement. Seuls les membres du parti étaient autorisés à posséder un appareil photo. Depuis, la jeunesse chinoise, s’est emparé du médium photographique pour s’exprimer.


Elle dénonce la censure, questionne la pression sociale, la brutalité d’une société ou célèbre tout simplement, la vie, l’amour et même sa singularité.


Reng Hang, en étoile filante de la photographie, a ouvert la voie à toute une génération.
Ses images crues et décomplexées ont inspiré ses héritiers et façonner une écriture photographique.


L’imagerie de la jeunesse chinoise se veut aujourd’hui intime, sans tabous et les corps se montrent dans leurs plus simples appareils. Elle est aussi nourrie de culture web et affche une esthétique « do it yourself » , où la lumière dure du fash devient une signature.


Malgré les esprits autoritaires, ces images abordent entre autres ; la sexualité, le genre, la fête, l’identité, les conventions sociales, le couple, et signe une véritable manifeste de liberté.

A télécharger :

ARTISTES

JOHN YUYI
LI HUI
YUYANG LIU
REN HANG
KA XIAOXI
LAO XIE XIE
SU YANG
Show More

OEUVRES

REVUE DE PRESSES

.Fisheye Magazin

INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône