A WORLD OF ABSTRACTION

BURKINA FASO, CUBA, THAILAND, FRANCE, AUSTRALIA

 

A WORLD OF ABSTRACTION 

WITH HYACINTHE OUATTARA, RENÉ FRANCISCO, KITIKONG TILOKWATTANOTAI, JADE FENU ET UNE SÉLECTION DE PEINTRES ABORIGÈNES AUSTRALIENS

FROM JUNE 03rd TO JULY 31th 2020

PRESENTATION

After interesting themselves to contemporary Japanese, Chilean, Caribbean, Moroccan and Mexican art, the 193 Gallery offers us a world tour of abstraction.

After minimal art, 5 artists from 5 continents (Thailand, Cuba, Burkina Faso, Australia and France) present their approaches to abstraction.

A BIT OF HISTORY 
In 1832, Hegel defined art in the following way: "Art must propose another end than the purely formal imitation of nature; in any case, imitation can only produce technical masterpieces, never works of art".

Abstract art is an international movement that dominates the entire 20th century. It breaks with a traditional conception of art as an imitation of nature. It does not represent subjects or objects from the natural world, but shapes and colors for their own sake.
Non-figurative, this art uses different codes in its realization as well as the senses and imagination of those who look at it. The goal is not to copy reality, nor to create one, but to create a visual experience and to feel emotions.

The transition to abstraction was gradual.

In the 19th century, Impressionism and Fauvism laid the foundations for a new representation of reality through the freedom of touch and the use of color. With cubism, the traditional representation is dislocated and recomposed by the artist. The 1910s seem to be the signal for many artists who took the step of completely evacuating figuration. Modern scientific thought, through the appearance of quantum physics or the theory of relativity, made the very notion of reality problematic, and abstract art thus proposed a form of painting in line with this conception of the world.

Who were the pioneers?

Kandinsky (1866-1944) endeavored to invent a language of emotion: large masses of color combine freely with forms and lines that speak to the sensibility, in the manner of music.

Mondrian (1872-1944) sought rather a geometric and mathematical language to translate the organizing and primordial forces of all that exists: orthogonal lines and primary colors are arranged on a white background.

Malevitch (1879-1935) pushed back the limits of the simplification of pictorial language to account for the invisible essence of things. He is considered to be the author of the first monochromes in contemporary painting.

In his abstract work, Kupka (1871-1957) combines the use of "sensory" colors with the geometric simplification of the subject, producing visual and graphic forms representing movement. The musical dimension is also fundamental in his work.

Our 5 abstract artists share this desire to invite the spectator to feel emotions, rather than trying to represent the visible appearances of the world.
outside, free from visual reality.

The magic of abstract art lies in the fact that everyone gives free rein to their own interpretation.
From geometrical or lyrical abstraction, from pointillism to minimalist art, the different currents of abstraction are represented in this exhibition.

This world tour takes us to the 5 continents: Africa with Hyacinthe Ouattara (Burkina Faso), Asia with Kitikong Tilokwattanotai (Thailand), in partnership with Galerie Arnaud Lebecq, America and the Caribbean with René Francisco (Cuba), Europe with Jade Fenu (France) and finally Oceania, with a selection of Australian Aboriginal painters, in partnership with Arts d'Australie - Stéphane Jacob.
A dialogue is created between these artists coming from the 4 corners of the world, with the will to present their perceptions of the world, between dreams and abstract reality.

Download links 

ARTISTS

RENÉ FRANCISCO
KITIKONG TILOKWATTANOTAI
JADE FENU
HYACINTHE OUATTARA
PEINTRES ABORIGÈNES
Sélection d'art aborigènes australien, en partenariat avec l'expert Stéphane Jacob
Show More

ARTWORKS

PRESS REVIEW

INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

UN MONDE D'ABSTRACTION

BURKINA FASO, CUBA, THAÏLANDE, FRANCE, AUSTRALIE

 

UN MONDE D'ABSTRACTION

AVEC HYACINTHE OUATTARA, RENÉ FRANCISCO, KITIKONG TILOKWATTANOTAI, JADE FENU ET UNE SÉLECTION DE PEINTRES ABORIGÈNES AUSTRALIENS

DU 03 JUIN AU 31 JUIL. 2020

PRÉSENTATION

Après s'être intéressée à l'art contemporain japonais, chilien, caribéen, marocain ou mexicain, la 193 Gallery nous propose un tour du monde de l'abstraction.


Après l'art minimal, 5 artistes de 5 continents (Thaïlande, Cuba, Burkina Faso, Australie et France) présentent leurs approches de l'abstraction.

UN PEU D'HISTOIRE 
En 1832, Hegel définissait l'art de la façon suivante : "L’art doit proposer une autre fin que l’imitation purement formelle de la nature ; dans tous les cas, l’imitation ne peut produire que des chefs-d’œuvre de technique, jamais des œuvres d’art "

L’art abstrait est un mouvement international qui domine tout le XXe siècle. Il se positionne en rupture avec une conception traditionnelle de l’art comme imitation de la nature. Il ne représente pas des sujets ou des objets du monde naturel, mais des formes et des couleurs pour elles-mêmes.
Non figuratif, cet art utilise des codes différents dans sa réalisation ainsi que les sens et l’imagination de ceux qui la regardent. Le but n’est pas de copier la réalité, ni d’en créer une, mais de créer une expérience visuelle et de ressentir des émotions.

Le passage à l’abstraction s’est fait progressivement.

Au XIXe siècle, l’impressionnisme et le fauvisme jettent les bases d’une nouvelle représentation du réel par la liberté de la touche et de l’emploi de la couleur. Avec le cubisme, la représentation traditionnelle est disloquée et recomposée par l’artiste. Les années 1910 semblent être le signal pour de nombreux artistes qui franchissent le pas en évacuant totalement la figuration. La pensée scientifique moderne, à travers l’apparition de la physique quantique ou la théorie de la relativité, rendent problématique la notion même de réalité et l’art abstrait propose ainsi une forme de peinture en adéquation avec cette conception du monde.


Quels en sont les pionniers ?


Kandinsky (1866-1944) s’emploie à inventer un langage de l’émotion : de grandes masses colorées se combinent librement avec des formes et des lignes qui parlent à la sensibilité, à la manière de la musique.

 

Mondrian (1872-1944) recherche plutôt un langage géométrique et mathématique pour traduire les forces organisatrices et primordiales de tout ce qui existe : lignes orthogonales et couleurs primaires sont agencées sur un fond blanc.

 

Malevitch (1879-1935) repousse les limites de la simplification du langage pictural pour rendre compte de l’essence invisible des choses. Il est considéré comme l’auteur des premiers monochromes de la peinture contemporaine.


Kupka (1871-1957) croise dans son oeuvre abstraite l’usage de couleurs « sensorielles » et la simplification géométrique du sujet, produisant ainsi des formes visuelles et graphiques représentant le mouvement. La dimension musicale est également fondamentale dans son oeuvre.

Nos 5 artistes abstraits partagent cette volonté d' inviter le spectateur à ressentir des émotions, plutôt qu'essayer de représenter les apparences visibles du monde
extérieur, en s'affranchissant de la réalité visuelle.

La magie de l'art abstrait tient notamment au fait que chacun laisse libre cours à son interprétation.
De l'abstraction géométrique ou lyrique, du pointillisme à l’art minimaliste, les différents courants de l'abstraction sont représentés dans cette exposition.


Ce tour du monde nous amène sur les 5 continents : l'Afrique avec Hyacinthe Ouattara (Burkina Faso), l'Asie avec Kitikong Tilokwattanotai (Thaïlande), en partenariat avec la Galerie Arnaud Lebecq, l'Amérique et les Caraïbes avec René Francisco (Cuba), l'Europe avec Jade Fenu (France) et enfin l'Océanie, avec une sélection de peintres aborigènes australiens, en partenariat avec Arts d'Australie - Stéphane Jacob.
Un dialogue se créé entre ces artistes venant des 4 coins du monde, avec comme volonté de présenter leurs perceptions du monde, entre rêves et réalité abstraite.

A télécharger :

ARTISTES

RENÉ FRANCISCO
KITIKONG TILOKWATTANOTAI
JADE FENU
HYACINTHE OUATTARA
PEINTRES ABORIGÈNES
Sélection d'art aborigènes australien, en partenariat avec l'expert Stéphane Jacob
Show More

OEUVRES

REVUE DE PRESSE

INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône