JAPAN

USHIO SHINOHARA

PRESENTATION

Son of a tanka poet (a form of traditional Japanese poetry), Shinohara was expound on different art forms from a very early age. His parents quickly instilled in him the love of the late 19th century French painting. He enter quite naturally into the Tokyo University of the Arts, but, disappointed by the overly academic teaching, left it to switch to other sources, such as the work of photographer Tomatsu Shomei. In 1960, he founded with several other Japanese artists (Yoshimura, Akasegawa, Arakawa, Kazakura, etc.) the group of Neo Dadaism Organizers (NDO), Japanese branch of the famous Dada movement, and whose action focuses on the holding of performances and happenings in public places. From that point, Shinohara developed several practices that will characterize his activity for the years to come: sculptures made of litter, paintings with monumental dimensions (including The largest self-portrait in the world), and Boxing Paintings where the artist leaves imprints of his fists on the canvas. While wearing an Iroquois Mohawk, the Japanese artist initiates a quest to create a violent, irreverent and concrete art, far from the informal concerns of conceptual groups which were then emerging. He reaches a wide fame with the latter, in collaboration with Fukuyama Masaharu, for the advertising clip of a sports drink. In 2007, he received the Mainichi Art Prize. In 2012, the first retrospective exhibition of his work abroad at the Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art, at the New Paltz of New York State University.

In the United States, Shinohara begins the Oiran series, continuing the Japanese tradition of geishas painting, ​​but where the courtesans are disfigured, attacked by hordes of cowboys, Indians and monsters, in a similar style of the Edo period (1606-1848), where vitality and expressiveness take precedence over beauty, thanks to the use of plastic materials and fluorescent paints. From the 1970s, he began the Motorcycles series, where he sculpted huge, colorful and complex motorcycles, mixing American myth and Japanese esthetics. Over the last few months, Shinohara has taken over Boxing Paintings.

"I just loved American art. In the 1960s, in the heyday of pop art, I read everything I could find on the subject in art magazines. It turned me on like crazy, I was like "me too, that's what I want to do! ". That’s how I decided to go to New York. But when my one-year grant ran out, I had neither money or plunger. But the art demon pulled me by the neck, so I put all my strength into the battle and went for it. "

The artworks, mostly monumental, of the artist, are visible in the collections of the largest museums; notably at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMa, New-York), the Metropolitan Museum of Art (The Met, New-York), the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art (Tokyo, Japan), the Hyogo Prefectural Museum of Art (Japan).

A photo of William Klein capturing Shinohara's performance in one of his Boxing Paintings is on display at the Museum of Fine Arts (Houston, US).

ARTWORKS

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

SELECTION

2012

MOMA, Museum of Modern Art New York City. TOKYO, 1955-1970 A New Avant-Garde.

Oiran Goes to the Wild West, PG Contemporary, Houston, TX

Houston Fine Art Fair with PG Contemporary Gallery

Samuel Dorsky Museum – SHINOHARA POPS, The Avant-Garde Road Tokyo / New York.

 

2011

White Box, Rauschenberg and Shinohara – Reconstruction an encounter

2010

hpgrp Gallery, Love is a roar, Ushio Shinohara and Noriko Shinohara

2009

Seattle Art Museum, Target Practice: Painting under attack 1949-78.

2007

Gyu and Chu: Ushio Shinohara and Gyu Chu. Toyota: Municipal Museum of Art

Getty Research Institute, Art, Anti -Art, Non Art: Experimentation in the public sphere in PostWar JApan, 1950-1970

 

2006

Ushio Shinohara: Ushio in Kagoshima. Kirishima: Kirishima Open- Air Museum of Art

 

2005  

Shinohara Ushio: Boxing paintings and motorcycle sculptures.

Kamakura and Hayama: The Musrum of Modern Art

1992

Ushio Shinohara. Hiroshima: Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art

1982

Shinohara. New York: Japan House Gallery

1966

Doll Festival/Onna no matsuri. Tokyo: Tokyo Gallery

PUBLIC COLLECTION

Institut d'Art Contemporain, Villeurbanne, FR

EXHIBITION AT THE 193 GALLERY

COLORS OF JAPAN
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

JAPON

USHIO SHINOHARA

PRÉSENTATION

Fils d’un poète tanka (forme de poésie japonaise traditionnelle), Shinohara a très tôt été mis en contact avec différentes formes d’art. Ses parents lui inculquent rapidement l’amour de la peinture française de la fin du XIXe siècle. Il s’engage assez naturellement à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Tokyo, mais, déçu par l’enseignement trop académique, la quitte pour se tourner vers d’autres sources, telles que l’œuvre du photographe Tomatsu Shomei. En 1960, il fonde avec plusieurs autres artistes japonais (Yoshimura, Akasegawa, Arakawa, Kazakura, etc.) le groupe des Neo Dadaïsm Organizers (NDO), antenne nipponne du fameux mouvement Dada, et dont l’action se focalise sur la tenue de performances et de happenings dans des lieux publics. Dès ce moment, Shinohara développe plusieurs pratiques qui vont caractériser son activité pour les années à venir : des sculptures faites de détritus, des peintures aux dimensions monumentales (dont Le plus grand autoportrait du monde), et les Boxing Paintings où l’artiste laisse les traces de ses poings sur la toile. Alors coiffé d’une crête iroquoise, le Japonais entame une quête pour créer un art violent, irrévérencieux et concret, loin des préoccupations informelles des groupes conceptuels alors émergents. Il atteint la notoriété avec ces dernières, en collaboration avec Fukuyama Masaharu, pour le clip publicitaire d’une boisson sportive. En 2007, il reçoit le Prix artistique Mainichi. En 2012, première exposition rétrospective de son œuvre à l’étranger au Musée d’ Arts Samuel Dorsky, au New Paltz de l’Université de l’État de New York.

 

Aux États-Unis, Shinohara commence la série Oiran, continuant ainsi la tradition japonaise de la peinture de geishas, mais où les courtisanes sont défigurées, agressées par des hordes de cow-boys, d’indiens et de monstres, dans un style se rapprochant de la période d’Edo (1606-1848), où la vitalité et l’expressivité prennent le pas sur la beauté, grâce à l’utilisation de matières plastiques et peintures fluorescentes. À partir des années 1970, il débute la série des Motorcycles, où il sculpte d’immenses motos complexes et colorées, mélangeant ainsi le mythe américain et l’esthétique japonaise. Au cours des dernières années, Shinohara a repris les œuvres Boxing Paintings.

 

« J’adorais simplement l’art américain. Dans les années 1960, en pleine période de gloire du pop art, je lisais tout ce que je trouvais sur le sujet dans les revues d’art. Ça m’excitait comme un fou, je me disais « moi aussi, c’est ce que je veux faire ! ». C’est ainsi que j’ai pris ma décision de partir à New York. Mais quand ma bourse d’un an a été épuisée, je n’avais ni argent, ni piston. Mais le démon de l’art m’a tiré par le cou, alors j’ai mis toutes mes forces dans la bataille et j’ai foncé. »

 

Les oeuvres, pour la plupart monumentales, de l’artiste, sont visibles dans les collections des plus grands musées; notamment au Museum of Modern Art (MoMa, New-York), au Metropolitan Museum of Art (The Met, New-York), au Hara Museum of Contemporary Art (Tokyo, Japon), au Hyogo Prefectural Museum of Art (Japon)

Une photo de William Klein capturant la performance de Shinohara lors de la réalisation d’une de ses Boxing Painting est exposée au Museum of Fine Arts (Houston, US).

OEUVRES

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

SELECTION

2012

MOMA, Museum of Modern Art New York City. TOKYO, 1955-1970 A New Avant-Garde.

Oiran Goes to the Wild West, PG Contemporary, Houston, TX

Houston Fine Art Fair with PG Contemporary Gallery

Samuel Dorsky Museum – SHINOHARA POPS, The Avant-Garde Road Tokyo / New York.

 

2011

White Box, Rauschenberg and Shinohara – Reconstruction an encounter

2010

hpgrp Gallery, Love is a roar, Ushio Shinohara and Noriko Shinohara

2009

Seattle Art Museum, Target Practice: Painting under attack 1949-78.

2007

Gyu and Chu: Ushio Shinohara and Gyu Chu. Toyota: Municipal Museum of Art

Getty Research Institute, Art, Anti -Art, Non Art: Experimentation in the public sphere in PostWar JApan, 1950-1970

 

2006

Ushio Shinohara: Ushio in Kagoshima. Kirishima: Kirishima Open- Air Museum of Art

 

2005  

Shinohara Ushio: Boxing paintings and motorcycle sculptures.

Kamakura and Hayama: The Musrum of Modern Art

1992

Ushio Shinohara. Hiroshima: Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art

1982

Shinohara. New York: Japan House Gallery

1966

Doll Festival/Onna no matsuri. Tokyo: Tokyo Gallery

COLLECTION PUBLIQUE

Institut d'Art Contemporain, Villeurbanne, FR

EXPOSITION À LA 193 GALLERY

COLORS OF JAPAN
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
NOUS RETROUVER
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône