PORTO-RICO - NEW YORK

WYLDA BAYRÓN

PRESENTATION

Native of Puerto Rico and based in New York, Wylda Bayrón is Director of Photography in cinematographic and television creation. In 2002, Wylda debuted in the cinema as first assistant cameraman on the American series "Miracle’s Boys" directed by Spike Lee. Wylda was Director of Photography for Oprah Winfrey, Cindy Lauper and Ben Stiller; and more recently, for producers Ryan Murphy, Laura Prepon, Phil Abraham, Matthew Wiener and Eric Stoltz.

Wylda also worked as Director of Photography on “Orange is the New Black” (Netflix). Before that, she was a cameraman in series like “Billions” (Showtime), “Crashing” (HBO), “Girls” (HBO), “Madam Secretary” (CBS), “Manifest” (NBC), “The Good Fight ”(CBS),“ Pose ”(FX), and“ Amy Schumer Live at the Apollo ”(HBO). Bayron is currently working on Fosse / Verdon (FX), the brand new series produced by Lin Manuel Miranda (Hamilton).

As a photographer, Wylda has spent more than a decade traveling to the most remote locations on the planet. Her work was selected for National Geographic: “Daily Dozen” in 2015, “Photo of the Day” in 2014, “Editor's Pick for Portraits” and “Sense of Place” in 2014 and 2013, and also for the “Photo of the Day ”from Smithsonian magazine.

Wylda’s passion for culture, adventure, human relationships and image creation has taken her to more than 30 countries on 6 continents. She is currently working on a book on her 18 month solo trip to Papua New Guinea. Her work on a man from the Chimbu tribe was selected as one of the "12 most fascinating photos" in the 2014 National Geographic competition by the Huffington Post.

Discussing her many trips she made during her television and film missions, the artist says: “I have taken photos on all continents except Antarctica. My focus has been Asia because there are many tribes there in remote places. I admire human genius and discover cultures that live outside of networks while preserving their cultural identity, informative examples of our evolution for all. "

ARTWORKS

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2020

FOIRE PARIS TRIBAL, Paris (France)

Héros et Esprits Nouvelle-Guinée, 193 Gallery, Paris (France)

2019

Héros et Esprits Nouvelle-Guinée - Musée de la Castre, Cannes (France)

Identités Caribéennes - 193 Gallery, Paris (France)

 

2018

Skin / Mother and Child - Andrew Baker Art Dealer (AUS)

REWARDS

2015

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC DAILY DOZEN

 

2014

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC'S  PHOTO OF THE DAY

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC EDITOR'S PICK FOR PORTRAITS AND SENSE OF PLACE

PHOTO OF THE DAY FOR SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE

 

2013

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC EDITOR'S PICK FOR PORTRAITS AND SENSE OF PLACE

PHOTO OF THE DAY FOR SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE

EXHIBITIONS AT THE 193 GALLERY

CARIBBEAN IDENTITIES
FROM TOKYO TO PUERTO RICO
HEROES AND SPIRITS OF NEW GUINEA
Show More
INFORMATION

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Opening hours : 

Tuesday to Saturday from 10:30am to 7:30pm

Sunday from 12am to 6pm

NEWSLETTERS
FIND US
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône

PORTO-RICO - NEW YORK

WYLDA BAYRÓN

PRÉSENTATION

Native de Porto Rico et basée à New York, Wylda Bayrón est Directrice de la Photographie dans la création cinématographique et  télévisuelle. En 2002, Wylda débute dans le cinéma en tant que première assistante caméraman sur la série américaine “Miracle’s Boys” dirigée par Spike Lee. Wylda a été Directrice de la Photographie pour Oprah Winfrey, Cindy Lauper et Ben Stiller; et plus récemment, pour les les producteurs Ryan Murphy, Laura Prepon, Phil Abraham, Matthew Wiener et Eric Stoltz.

 

Wylda a également travaillé comme Directrice de la Photographie sur “Orange is the New Black” (Netflix). Avant cela, elle a été opératrice caméraman dans des séries comme “Billions” (Showtime), “Crashing” (HBO), “Girls” (HBO), “Madam Secretary” (CBS), “Manifest” (NBC), “The Good Fight” (CBS), “Pose” (FX), et “Amy Schumer Live at the Apollo” (HBO). Bayron travaille actuellement sur Fosse/Verdon (FX), la toute nouvelle série produite par Lin Manuel Miranda (Hamilton).

 

En tant que photographe, Wylda a passé plus d’une dizaine d’années à voyager dans les endroits les plus reculés de la planète. Son travail a été sélectionné pour le National Geographic: “Daily Dozen” en 2015, “Photo of the Day” en 2014, “Editor’s Pick for Portraits” et “Sense of Place” en 2014 et 2013,  et également pour le “Photo of the Day” du magazine Smithsonian.

 

La passion de Wylda pour la culture, l’aventure, la relation humaine et la création d’images l’a emmené dans plus de 30 pays sur 6 continents. Elle travaille actuellement sur un livre sur son voyage en solo de 18 mois en Papouasie Nouvelle Guinée. Son travail sur un homme de la tribu Chimbu a été sélectionné comme l’une des ”12 photos les plus fascinantes” du concours National Geographic de 2014 par le Huffington Post.


En discutant de ses nombreux voyages qu’elle a fait lors de ses missions télévisuelles et cinématographiques, l’artiste affirme: “j’ai pris des photos sur tous les continents excepté en  Antarctique. Mon focus a été l’Asie parce qu’on y trouve de nombreuses tribus dans des endroits reculés. J’admire le génie humain et je découvre des cultures qui vivent hors des réseaux en conservant leur identité culturelle, exemples informatifs de notre évolution à tous”.

OEUVRES

SOLO & GROUP SHOW

2019

Héros et Esprits Nouvelle-Guinée - Musée de la Castre, Cannes (France)

Identités Caribéennes - 193 Gallery, Paris (France)

 

2018

Skin / Mother and Child - Andrew Baker Art Dealer (AUS)

RÉCOMPENSES

2015

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC DAILY DOZEN

 

2014

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC'S  PHOTO OF THE DAY

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC EDITOR'S PICK FOR PORTRAITS AND SENSE OF PLACE

PHOTO OF THE DAY FOR SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE

 

2013

NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC EDITOR'S PICK FOR PORTRAITS AND SENSE OF PLACE

PHOTO OF THE DAY FOR SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE

EXPOSITION À LA 193 GALLERY

IDENTITÉS CARIBÉENNES
FROM TOKYO TO PUERTO RICO
HEROS ET ESPRITS DE NOUVELLE-GUINEE
Show More
INFORMATIONS

7, Rue des Filles du Calvaire

75003 Paris, France

cesar@193gallery.com

+33 6 03 70 78 26

 

Horaires : 

Ouvert du mardi au samedi de 10h30 à 19h30

et le dimanche de 12h à 18h

NEWSLETTERS
NOUS RETROUVER
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Twitter Icon
  • YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône